Why You Gotta Be So Mean?

Don’t you hate when you need something that you just washed and now you can’t go to bed until the dryer finishes? Of course, the item in question is the towel my cat sleeps on and as she has me trained to be her slave, so I’m up at 1:30am waiting on the towel to dry. I am such a sucker.

But, that gives me a chance to do Miss Berry’s new Monday Meme – Mean Comments edition.

Why You Gotta Be So Mean?

1. Have you ever been subjected to mean comments online by strangers? If not, then skip to question #5.

Oh gosh, of course. You don’t spend any time online in social areas and NOT get told something awful. You don’t become a blogger without people throwing every mistake you’ve ever made back in your face when you write about changes you’ve made. It’s just the way of the internet.

2. How did you respond to them?

Usually I just ignore it. The times I’ve fought back, it has lead to me shaking, crying, and being in a foul mood for days.

3. How did they make you feel?

Well, it really depends on the comment and the day! Sometimes I feel really bad. Sometimes I’m really super amused. It kind of depends on who said it, too. Strangers can’t hurt me the way friends can, you know?

4. Can you share some of the mean comments you’ve received and your thoughts on them?

I don’t have any saved. That’s not something I keep around. 🙂 But I’ve been told that I’m stupid, that I’m disappointing, that I don’t deserve good things. There’s always the “Omg, you’re so fat and ugly IRL” comments, too, but I feel that’s a cop out when someone can’t think of anything more to say and they know they’ve basically lost the “fight.”

5. Have you ever ridiculed or negatively commented on someone else’s work, actions or personality with the intention to hurt them?

Unfortunately, yes. Something that most people don’t know about me because I control it pretty well is that I have an incredible temper. I don’t go specifically looking to be some internet troll, but if provoked enough, I can bite back pretty hard. I go for whatever I think is the weakest spot and hit hard and fast. It is not something I’m proud of at all, believe me. But it does not happen often because I tend not to let myself get dragged into internet fights and I have learned when to just shut my mouth. On occasion when it happens, I usually feel horrible for weeks afterwards. I don’t forgive myself as easily as I forgive others, I’m sorry to say. But it’s helpful because it reminds me, “Hey. Shut up. You don’t need to say that. Walk away.”

And on that note, I’m shutting up for the night because the towel is dry and I can put it back on the corner of my bed where the Spoiled Princess sleeps. [10 points if you know that name!] Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

