Are views actually everything?

Now let me just say that this is JUST my opinion and I’m not trying to tell anyone how to run their businesses or events. I obviously do not run a business or an event, so what do I really know? But I do have something to talk about that’s been bothering me a lot for the past few weeks.

Are views actually everything?

I’ve been a blogger in SL for a long time. I’ve been lucky enough to have had the chance to blog for some AMAZING people and events. I am almost a 6 year old fashion blogger [6 years next month, officially!] and let me tell you – in SL years, that’s a long time. I don’t consider myself one of the “top bloggers.” Years ago, a designer friend of mine mentioned that he was so excited to be blogged but a “top blogger,” I think it was Berry or Gogo, despite the fact that I’d been blogging him faithfully for a while. *laughs* But I hold no delusions that I’m at the top of the blogger mountain and I’m kind of okay with that considering that it seems like an awful lot of work and responsibility. I don’t have “sponsors” because people with “sponsors” seem to be crying all of the time when they can’t blog for a day because the “sponsors” are breathing down their necks. I simply blog as the mood strikes, when I have fun things to blog, and I blog for some wonderful events and some lovely people who are kind enough to allow me to blog for them. I know how lucky I am. Believe me, I know.

But there’s this thing that’s happening lately and I don’t like it. It seems like every event or store looking for bloggers now suddenly require 500+ flickr views per photo. When the heck did THAT happen? When did having more Flickr views = more sales?

Because see, here’s what’s happening. People are adding loads and loads of contacts in the hopes of getting a follow back so that they can get a photo view. And not only that, but people are re-upping their Flickr pics to get more views. Not just once, but SEVERAL TIMES. So you might end up seeing the same dang picture 12 times in 2 days because they’re trying to get those views. And oh my god, it’s annoying. Everyone is annoyed by it and usually end up taking back their faves or just unfollowing the person. I watched a girl that I had recently followed repost a fairly plain photo about 7 times in 2 days. She got over 600 views, but I don’t know exactly what she was showing and I ended up just unfollowing her. Because I don’t have time to keep seeing the same photo on flickr over and over. I barely can keep up looking at the new ones as it is.

I get wanting to have more publicity for your event or item. I really do. But it’s making Flickr completely not fun. And I don’t know about anyone else, but I’m not rushing out to purchase whatever someone who re-posts their picture 18 times is showing. Most of the time, I don’t even know what’s being shown. All I know is that I’ve added over 300 people in the past week, have gotten maybe 100 following me back, and my pics are only getting maybe 50 more views on average. And I don’t think my photos are that bad.

Is this what it’s going to come to? That it’s no longer about how good your photos are, or how well you write, or that your blog readers actually buy what you show? It’s knocking a LOT of really decent bloggers out of the running to apply for things because they don’t meet the Flickr view quota because they refuse to repost their pics 12 times or add everyone in sight just to get a view. It’s frustrating. Yes, I do still shop, but I enjoy being a blogger for stores and events that I like because it’s really fun. It’s always been really fun to be “behind the scenes” in a sense.

Again, I don’t run a business. I don’t organize events. Maybe knocking some of the bloggers out of the running because there are others who get more Flickr views doesn’t hurt anything.

But then again, maybe it does.

7 thoughts on “Are views actually everything?

  1. I was wondering why I keep getting people adding me when I hardly post anything on flickr lol. I usually follow back. Maybe now I’ll be more cautious of who I start following back lol.

  2. This is very interesting indeed. and maybe its why most of the fashion bloggers i follow are suddenly writing that they are taking a well needed “break” all because they are stressed out with keeping up with this. to me its sad to see this because in the last two days three fashion blogs i follow that i really like have suddenly stopped blogging……

  3. Well this makes a ton of sense now. I haven’t blogged or even used my flickr in years- truth be told I don’t even remember my login for it! But I noticed I’ve gotten a TON of adds lately. I was wondering what was up. I get designers wanting to have well viewed quality bloggers but honestly this is just going to cause more harm than good I think.

  4. Honestly, I think it’s like anything – a small number of people start doing something, and if they’re influential then they might inspire some more, but it rarely ends up being more than twenty to thirty people in total. Most of the stores who send me stuff do so because they like my style, or my posts, and few of them seem to care that in the scheme of things I am a very minor figure in Second Life.

    Influence is such an interesting, fleeting thing – and for bloggers, it’s largely ephemeral. People are considered important in Second Life because they seem influential, or we want them to like us, not due to any sort of tangible power.

  5. Ahh I wondered why I suddenly had all these followers – they were hoping I would follow them back ! I don’t work that way, I look at the persons flickr – if Its what I like and a style I like, I might follow but I usually don’t – wasting their time I guess !
    I had noticed a few pics reposted and thought they’d updated them or something – durrrr I’m so naive lol

Leave a Reply

